276°
Posted 20 hours ago

In My Dreams I Hold a Knife: TikTok made me buy it! The breakout dark academia thriller everyone's talking about

£4.995£9.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Reading this book was like wandering solo in some remote, little-known country, not knowing its culture, expectations, or language.

Fans of The Secret History, Ruth Ware, and Andrea Bartz will devour this dark academic thriller with an addictive locked-room mystery at its core. Plattsburgh Press-Republican “A gripping page-turner that keeps the reader second-guessing all the way to the end, highly recommended. Told in racing dual timelines, with a dark campus setting, In My Dreams I Hold A Knife is an addictive, propulsive read you won't be able to put down. Publishers Weekly “Packed with intrigue, scandal, and enough twists and turns to match Donna Tartt’s The Secret History. Winstead expertly explores group dynamics through her book’s central characters, delving into the shifting allegiances and closely guarded secrets that can exist within cliques— and exploring the lasting impact these group dynamics can have long after individuals have gone their separate ways.I realize it was only released last year, but it has come to my attention that ‘dark academia’ is a bit of a trend, which explains why I have found myself reading several other books recently with a similar theme. He has been obsessed with investigating his sister's murder and also the secrets of the past group of friends and their contacts. Layne Fargo, author of They Never Learn “An unsolved murder, dark secrets and dysfunctional college days, all wrapped up in a twisty plot that will keep you flipping pages. Those carefree days of college, where they felt on top of the world, were also some of the worst days for some of them. The character development was superb, as I found myself loving as well as loathing several characters.

If you liked Marisha Pessl's Neverworld Wake or Laurie Elizabeth Flynn's The Girls Are All So Nice Here, trust me—you will love this. The different timelines and perspectives impressively illustrated exactly why these characters were as 'effed up' as they were, making the characters even that much more authentic! Twisty and compulsively readable, In My Dreams I Hold a Knife will have you turning pages late into the night, not just to figure out who murdered beloved Heather Shelby, but to see whether friendships forged under fire can ever be resurrected again. Ten years ago, Jessica Miller and her friends—a clique known as the “East House Seven”—suffered a horrific tragedy when one of their own was brutally murdered in her dorm room, stabbed to death while she was sleeping. Especially last two flashbacks involving Jess’ birthday party with her family and and her talk with Heather where do they see themselves ten years later were the best flashback chapters of the book shook you to the core.

I love that Jess is a very morally gray character and she’s super flawed and hard to root for at times, it made her such an interesting protagonist. This balance between drama and suspense, once established, sucked me right in and kept me hooked until the book’s end. The younger brother of the murdered girl has remained at the University for the past ten years and now works on campus. When the six friends are reunited, they will be forced to confront what happened that night―and the years' worth of secrets each of them would do anything to keep hidden.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment